Skip to content
Glasgow City Council

Scottish Parliamentary Election - Nomination Packs and Information for Candidates and Agents

An election will be held on 6 May 2021 to elect Members of Scottish Parliament (MSPs) to the Scottish Parliament.

A Notice of Election was published on Monday 15 March. Nominations open on Tuesday 16 March and close on Wednesday 31 March at 4pm.

Alternatively, nomination packs can be emailed to you upon request by contacting the Election Office on 0141 287 5684 / 4151 or by emailing

Financial assistance for disabled people running in the 2021 Scottish Parliamentary Elections

The Access to Elected Office Fund offers financial assistance to disabled people running in the 2021 Scottish Parliamentary election and in any by-elections for Local Authority and Scottish Parliament seats. The fund is delivered by Inclusion Scotland and supported by the Scottish Government. 

To find out more, visit Access to Elected Office Fund.

The Scottish Parliament and Glasgow Constituencies

There are currently 129 elected members in the Scottish Parliament at Holyrood, of which 73 are constituency members and 56 are Regional members.

Scottish Parliamentary Elections use the Additional Member System where each voter has two votes. One of these elects a constituency MSP using the first past the post system, and the other elects regional representatives from a list of political parties and individual candidates.

Everyone in Scotland is represented by 8 MSPs:

  • One for their constituency (for example, Glasgow Anniesland, Glasgow Cathcart, Glasgow Kelvin etc)
  • Seven for the larger region in which they live (for example, Glasgow)

There are currently eight parliamentary constituencies in the Glasgow City Council area.

You can currently vote to return a constituency MSP for:

Glasgow Anniesland
Glasgow Cathcart
Glasgow Kelvin
Glasgow Maryhill / Springburn
Glasgow Pollok
Glasgow Provan
Glasgow Shettleston
Glasgow Southside

and Regional MSPs for the Glasgow Region.

The Glasgow Region comprises:

Glasgow City
South Lanarkshire (part) - administered by South Lanarkshire Council

Annemarie O'Donnell is the Constituency Returning Officer for the eight Glasgow constituencies and is the Regional Returning Officer for the Glasgow Region.

Share this page:

A to Z:

Council Services